Posted by: L | May 18, 2007

Louisa May Alcott – a poem

I’ve always been fond of this poem by Louisa May Alcott. It reminds me of something from Bunyan, for some reason.

Maybe it’s a quote that I don’t recognize. I’ll check.
The words evokes a sentiment probably as far as away as it’s possible to get from our consumer society and its partisan politics. Probably, it will be seen as trite, banal, or escapist by many people today.

But I wonder if that would be because of a failing in the verse or in the readers…

He that is down need fear no fall,
He that is low no pride.
He that is humble ever shall

Have God to be his guide.

I am content with what I have,
Little be it, or much.
And, Lord! Contentment still I crave,
Because Thou savest such.

Fulness to them a burden is,
That go on pilgrimage.
Here little, and hereafter bliss,
Is best from age to age!

Responses

  1. It’s a good poem, I think. I liked your article on Falwell, Lila.

  2. Thanks. He was a staunch supporter of Christian Zionism, which was probably the most problemtic thing for me. For some reason, I forgot that while I was writing this piece. I was a bit saddened that a lot of people on the left lost a chance to show some generosity in spirit. I understand where they come from and I don’t presume to say anyone shouldn’t feel the way they should, but I think it might have helped the debate….


Leave a Reply

Categories

